Exams Officer of the Year

Sponsored By:


Nominations for the Exams Officer of the Year 2024 award will be taken from 1 March 2024.

One of the NAEO’s key aims is to recognise excellence, dedication and commitment to the exams officer role.

Over 200 nominations were received for the 2023 award, from which a shortlist of ten exams officers (see the foot of this page) were presented to a panel of awarding body representatives for consideration against the criteria detailed below.


Exams Officer of the Year 2023

At our Summer 2023 Conference, held at the Oval cricket ground, London on 3 July, Christos Christofi was announced as the Exams Officer of the Year for 2023.

Christos, who serves as exams officer at St. John's School, Cyprus was presented with his certificate, and £500 of gift vouchers, by Jean Passmore of The Exams Office on a visit to St.John's School.

Jean Passmore presenting Christos with the Exams Officer of the Year 2023 award

Jean presents Christos with the Exams Officer of the Year 2023 award

Jean with Christos and Colin Guyton (headteacher at St. John's School, Cyprus)

Jean pictured with Christos and Colin Guyton (headteacher at St. John's School, Cyprus)

St.John's School is a Ministry of Defence school serving the military community in British Forces Cyprus and educating approximately 300 students aged 11 to 18 years.

Paul Cordingley, exams officer at Penketh High School, Warrington and Catherine Bain, exams officer at Bramhall High school, Stockport were announced as runners-up.


NAEO Exams Officer of the Year 2024

At the National Association of Examinations Officers Summer 2024 conference (venue TBC, taking place in early July) the annual Exams Officer of the Year award will be presented to the winner and two runners-up.

Nominees for Exams Officer of the Year should have delivered excellence in their role which is defined as:

  • Positive change within their centre or beyond, and/or
  • Devising innovative processes which promote efficiency and effectiveness, and/or
  • Creating procedures which guarantee the integrity and security of the examination system, and a 'level playing field' for candidates, within their centre, and/or
  • Having effected a positive influence amongst their peers

In order to enter, an exams officer should be nominated by a peer, colleague or senior leader who also has a working relationship with the nominee with a brief description of the excellence which they have delivered via our online form.

There is no limit on the number of forms which can be submitted for one nominee by colleagues/peers and can be from within or outside the nominee's centre.

As well as the nominee's line manager/members of senior leadership team, nominations are encouraged from any colleagues within the nominee's centre - this may include the special educational needs co-ordinator, a head of year, invigilators, etc.

Nominations from exams officers/colleagues outside of the nominee's centre are also encouraged to evidence the positive influence and/or the wider impact of the nominee's work. This may include members of network groups, local exams officers who have received support from the nominee, or colleagues within an academy trust/partner schools where support has been delivered.

A shortlist of nominees will be devised by our panel to award the following at our Summer Conference:

  • Exams Officer of the Year 2024 - Certificate + £500 gift voucher
  • Runners-up (2nd place) - Certificate + £250 gift voucher
  • Runners-up (3rd place) - Certificate + £125 gift voucher


We would like to thank The Exams Office for supporting our Rewards and Awards programme by supplying all prizes and awards.


2023 nominations shortlist

  • Catherine Bain (Bramhall High School, Stockport)
  • Christina Dickson (Grimsby Institute, Grimsby)
  • Christos Christofi (St. John's School, Cyprus)
  • Fiona Holland (Chichester High School, Chichester)
  • Gillian Ronksley (Sheffield Girls High School, Sheffield)
  • Kirsty Wilson (The Cherwell School, Oxford)
  • Nicola Barwell (Southend Adult Community College, Southend)
  • Paul Cordingley (Penketh High School, Warrington)
  • Rachel Talbot (Ashfield School, Kirkby in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire)
  • Sara Gill (Dronfield Henry Fanshawe School, Dronfield, Derbyshire)